Reading Assignment #6- Fine Tuning Your Text Connections

162 thoughts on “Reading Assignment #6- Fine Tuning Your Text Connections

  1. @Carly Bretecher
    I agree with you, everyone has judged people even thought they try not to. It is apart of human nature. I always try and not to judge people but unfortunatly I do. I agree with you the reason we judge people is that it gives us personally a confidence boost, and unforunatly this is how we make our society.

  2. @Carly Bretecher
    I agree with you, everyone has judged people even thought they try not to. It is apart of human nature. I always try and not to judge people but unfortunatly I do. I agree with you the reason we judge people is that it gives us personally a confidence boost, and unforunatly this is how we make our society.

  3. Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist (47)
    Text to self: I'm not too far into the book yet, but it mentions music a lot – everything reminds Nick or Norah of a song. This is quite similar to me because certain things make me think of a song or vice verse. For example, whenever I hear Ten Thousand Hours by Macklemore it reminds me of lsdt year's musical because when Kathryn was doing my hair, that song played on repeat. Another example is when I'm driving on King Edward or Route 90, I think of the playlists my ex boyfriend and I used to listen to.. It was a mix of Taylor Swift and Macklemore. We used to drive around those streets a lot and those CDs were often playing in the car. So what I'm saying is music is very powerful and it can be easy to relate a certain song with a person/place/memory just as Nick and Norah do in the novel.

  4. Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist (47)
    Text to self: I'm not too far into the book yet, but it mentions music a lot – everything reminds Nick or Norah of a song. This is quite similar to me because certain things make me think of a song or vice verse. For example, whenever I hear Ten Thousand Hours by Macklemore it reminds me of lsdt year's musical because when Kathryn was doing my hair, that song played on repeat. Another example is when I'm driving on King Edward or Route 90, I think of the playlists my ex boyfriend and I used to listen to.. It was a mix of Taylor Swift and Macklemore. We used to drive around those streets a lot and those CDs were often playing in the car. So what I'm saying is music is very powerful and it can be easy to relate a certain song with a person/place/memory just as Nick and Norah do in the novel.

  5. @Sierra Hill

    I totally see what you mean! If I were Allie, I would've sat down and talked to my best friend to help sort out my feelings. One should never make big decisions in the moment – it usually ends badly. Especially when it comes to somebody else's feelings.. Sure marrying someone who's “safe” is comforting, but why settle when you could be truly happy with someone else? On the other hand, you shouldn't just go back to someone after you hurt them so badly.. Would it be worth it? What if you just end up hurting them again? Ahhhhh, I feel so conflicted and this isn't even MY situation! I have no idea what I would end up choosing if I were Allie.

    But if the movie is anything like the book at all, then I'm glad she chose who she chose.

  6. @Sierra Hill

    I totally see what you mean! If I were Allie, I would've sat down and talked to my best friend to help sort out my feelings. One should never make big decisions in the moment – it usually ends badly. Especially when it comes to somebody else's feelings.. Sure marrying someone who's “safe” is comforting, but why settle when you could be truly happy with someone else? On the other hand, you shouldn't just go back to someone after you hurt them so badly.. Would it be worth it? What if you just end up hurting them again? Ahhhhh, I feel so conflicted and this isn't even MY situation! I have no idea what I would end up choosing if I were Allie.

    But if the movie is anything like the book at all, then I'm glad she chose who she chose.

  7. Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist (47)
    Text to text: NANIP (acronym because I'm lazy) reminds me of “It's Kind Of A Funny Story” by Ned Vizzini because both books involve 2 teens meeting in unconventional ways; Nick and Norah met in a bar (both are underaged!) & Craig and Noelle met in the psychiatric ward. They both hit it off great with their general interests (N&N with their music and C&N with their mental problems) and start relationships. Both of the guys are hung up on other girls (but they would never admit it), Nick with his ex girlfriend and Craig with his crush, Nia. I think it's cute how both of the relationships are unique, not your typical “ask the girl on a date, buy her flowers, meet her parents, fall in love, get married” relationships – NOT THAT THERE'S ANYTHING WRONG WITH THAT! It just gets boring to read the same love story over and over again, you know?

  8. Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist (47)
    Text to text: NANIP (acronym because I'm lazy) reminds me of “It's Kind Of A Funny Story” by Ned Vizzini because both books involve 2 teens meeting in unconventional ways; Nick and Norah met in a bar (both are underaged!) & Craig and Noelle met in the psychiatric ward. They both hit it off great with their general interests (N&N with their music and C&N with their mental problems) and start relationships. Both of the guys are hung up on other girls (but they would never admit it), Nick with his ex girlfriend and Craig with his crush, Nia. I think it's cute how both of the relationships are unique, not your typical “ask the girl on a date, buy her flowers, meet her parents, fall in love, get married” relationships – NOT THAT THERE'S ANYTHING WRONG WITH THAT! It just gets boring to read the same love story over and over again, you know?

  9. the perks of being a wallflower (190) While I read perks of being a wallflower I find myself wondering the same things Charlie intends to think of. I’ve noticed that Charlie likes to think beyond everything. For example Charlie said “ After a few minutes it was time for me to leave. I don’t know who decides these things. It just happens” I think he made a really good point by saying who decides these things, because really who does? He definitely always has me thinking while I’m reading. I have my moments when I think about things that really aren’t that important. I like to think beyond and go past ‘whats normal’. I find myself doing this most when I am at dance teaching my 3-12 year old class. I always wonder what they will look/act like when they are older. I don’t question as many things i’ve noticed charlie does but I still do wonder the odd thing.

  10. the perks of being a wallflower (190) While I read perks of being a wallflower I find myself wondering the same things Charlie intends to think of. I’ve noticed that Charlie likes to think beyond everything. For example Charlie said “ After a few minutes it was time for me to leave. I don’t know who decides these things. It just happens” I think he made a really good point by saying who decides these things, because really who does? He definitely always has me thinking while I’m reading. I have my moments when I think about things that really aren’t that important. I like to think beyond and go past ‘whats normal’. I find myself doing this most when I am at dance teaching my 3-12 year old class. I always wonder what they will look/act like when they are older. I don’t question as many things i’ve noticed charlie does but I still do wonder the odd thing.

Leave a Reply

